Women’s Big Bash League 2023-24 Season Preview

WBBL 09 Schedule
Women’s Big Bash 2023 (image credit Google)

The Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) is set for another exhilarating season of top-class T20 cricket action in Australia this summer. With the best female cricketers across the globe competing, WBBL provides a thrilling showcase of talent.

As the 8 WBBL clubs prepare their star-studded lineups, fans are eager to see how the competition unfolds. Will the Brisbane Heat go back-to-back? Can the Melbourne Renegades bounce back? Will young guns or veterans own the season?

Let’s preview the teams, top players, and exciting format for WBBL 2023-24! From blockbuster signings to rising standouts, it’s set to be a sensational summer.

The WBBL Teams

WBBL features 8 city-based franchises drawing superstars from across women’s cricket. The clubs are:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

Each squad comprises up to 18 contracted players, including marquee international signings. WBBL prioritizes domestic Australian talent, but also attracts global icons.

With world-class coaches and support staff behind the teams, they’re set for fierce competition. Who will claim the coveted WBBL trophy?

International Players to Watch

Ellyse the incredible
Ellyse the incredible (image credit Google)

While showcasing Australian cricketers, WBBL imports elite overseas talent to raise the stakes. Here are some of the must-see international players this season:

Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers) – The legendary Australian all-rounder is a bonafide star and Sixers favorite. Perry power-hitting, crafty bowling and athletic fielding promises to thrill.

Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers) – The dynamic New Zealand captain, renowned for six-smashing batting, will unleash her skills for the Scorchers.

Sophie Devine: The Star of New Zealand Cricket
(Photo by Sarah Reed/Getty Images)

Natalie Sciver (Melbourne Stars) – England’s versatile Sciver is one of the world’s best all-rounders. Her batting finesse and bowling variety will elevate the Stars.

Hayley Matthews (Adelaide Strikers) – The hard-hitting West Indian is set to light up Adelaide with explosive batting. Her part-time off-spin is also tricky to play.

Chamari Athapaththu (Brisbane Heat) – Sri Lanka’s T20 skipper has joined the reigning champs. Her aggressive top-order batting will bolster the Heat.

With athletes representing 8 different nations, WBBL’s global flavor heightens the stakes.

Young Players to Watch

While big names attract attention, young talents emerge each WBBL season. Breakout prospects to watch include:

Courtney Sippel (Brisbane Heat) – This teenage fast bowler impressed last season. With more pace and swing, she could lead the attack.

Phoebe Litchfield (Sydney Thunder) – At just 19, opener Litchfield has already represented Australia. Her graceful batting will only improve.

Phoebe Litchfield
young Star of WBBL 09
Phoebe Litchfield young Star of WBBL 09 (image credit Google)

Hannah Darlington (Sydney Sixers) – The 21-year-old pace all-rounder had a stellar WBBL|07. Expect even bigger things this season.

Maddie Penna (Perth Scorchers) – Leg-spinner Penna, 20, spins the ball hard and could take big hauls. Exciting talent.

Zoe Pugh (Hobart Hurricanes) – At 18, Pugh hits the ball fiercely and bowls useful off-spin. A glimpse of the future.

Youngsters playing freely often provide highlights – and offer a sneak peek at women’s cricket’s future stars.

Australia’s Best Looking to Dominate

Of course, WBBL provides the stage for Australia’s elite cricketers to showcase their skills domestically. Meg Lanning, Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Tahlia McGrath – all the Aussie superstars will feature prominently.

Lanning’s return from injury for Melbourne Stars will be keenly watched. Whether batting, keeping or captaining, Healy is always entertaining. And Mcgrath’s rise as an all-round powerhouse continues for Adelaide.

After a huge year, Australia’s world champion players will be eager to conquer the WBBL and inspire the next generation.

Marquee Signings Shake Up Squads

Player transfers always generate excitement leading into WBBL season. Here are some player from squads of WBBL 09 of the most striking signings clubs made:

Annabel-Sutherland-WBBL 09
Annabel-Sutherland-WBBL 09 (image credit Google)

Annabel Sutherland – Rising all-rounder joins Melbourne Stars from Renegades.

Sophie Molineux – Skilled left-arm spinner goes from Stars to Sixers.

Maitlan Brown – Young quick shifts from Strikers to Scorchers.

Erin Burns – Former Sixer returns to Thunder seeking opportunity.

Amelia Kerr – New Zealand star signed by Perth after Brisbane stint.

With top talents switching squads, dynamics are set to shift. Rivalries will only intensify as players face their old teams!

WBBL|09 Schedule and Format

WBBL|09 begins on 19 October 2023, running through to 02 December 2023. It will comprise:

  • 59 matches total
  • Each team plays 14 regular rounds
  • Matches split between major metro venues
  • Finals series for top 4 teams

Defending champions Brisbane Heat snared the coveted first game slot against Sydney Sixers. With blockbuster fixtures spaced out, fans have hours of exciting T20 action to absorb.

The full WBBL|08 schedule and broadcast details will be announced soon. Mark the calendar for an awesome two months of women’s cricket!

Bold Predictions

With so much talent on display, what surprising storylines could emerge this WBBL season? Here are some fearless predictions:

  • Perth’s Sophie Devine will blast the fastest WBBL century
  • Young quick Darcie Brown will claim the most wickets
  • Ellyse Perry will hit new career highs with bat and ball
  • Melbourne Stars will edge Sydney Sixers in a classic grand final
  • A teenage debutant will produce a breakout performance
  • Evelyyn Jones will win player of the tournament honors

That’s the fun of WBBL – with so much promise and possibility across teams, almost anything could happen out on the pitch!


The eighth edition of WBBL is locked in to provide a celebratory summer of women’s cricket. With world-beating talent, rising youth, and fierce competition, get ready for an electrifying tournament.

Rain or shine, the WBBL 2023-24 action will impress. Who will lift the trophy? There’s only one way to find out – tune into the exciting games this season!

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *